Using a Voice Recorder for Answering Emails

This past weekend I was at a wedding when I received this email from a student:

Hey Mr. Whisen

Okay so for my presentation of the roller coasters i was researching the difference between clothoid loops and the circular loops that occurred in rollar coasters before.  I know that clothoid loops are more efficient but I don’t understand how I can use the formula to demonstrate this.

At this point in the day I am filling time between the ceremony and the reception.  I want to reply to the student but I know it will take me a long time to type out a detailed explanation on my BlackBerry.  I also know that I will do not want to wait until I get home (at 2:00 am) to respond to her.

In a flash, it occurs to me that my phone also has a voice recorder in it!  In no time, I record my detailed response to her question and email her back the audio file.  Altogether, this took less time than typing an answer and I was able to give a far more detailed response!

I love finding new ways to use technology.  Another tool to add to the toolkit!

By the way, if you’re dying to know my answer … have a listen.

27. October 2010 by Graham Whisen
Categories: Uncategorized | 6 comments

Comments (6)

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *


Skip to toolbar